
AUGUST 2018
PREVAILING WAGE CHANGES

This new law makes several changes

to Missouri’s prevailing wage system.

Legislation (HB 1729) passed by the Missouri
General Assembly and signed by the

Governor becomes effective August 28, 2018. 

Public works projects are subject to either prevailing
wage or public works contracting minimum wage depending 
on whether 1,000 hours are reported (see below).
Hours worked on holidays will be paid at twice the normal 
rate (including fringe benefits). Overtime hours will be
paid at time and a half of the normal rate (including fringe 
benefits).
Contractors may employ one “apprentice” or “entry-level” 
worker for each journeyman hired and pay them 50% of
the pay (including fringe benefits) of a journeyman 
in their same occupational
title.

•

•

•

FOR A SPECIFIC OCCUPATIONAL TITLE
IN EACH COUNTY

PROJECT COST
•

•

Public works projects valued $75,000 and under are
not subject to the prevailing wage law.
Public works projects valued less than $10,000 are not 
subject to a competitive bidding process.

UNDER $75,000    <<< $75,000 >>>    ABOVE $75,000

The prevailing wage rate shall be a weighted average of 
the total wage fringe benefit package of all journeyman 
hours submitted by contractors.
Only hours reported by contractors on non-residential 
projects will be used to calculate the annual
wage order.

•

•

• The public works contracting minimum wage of 120% of 
the average county wage will be used instead of the 
prevailing wage.

UNDER       <<< 1,000 HOURS >>>       ABOVE

IMPORTANT DATES

No project may be split up into smaller projects 
valued at less than $75,000 to evade the requirement 
to pay prevailing wage or public works contracting 
minimum wage.

The list of occupational titles has been consolidated 
to 20. You may continue to use the same occupational 
titles to input your hours. The system will 
automatically sort this information into the correct 
titles set forth by statute.

Last day to report
2018 hours and data

01/31/19

Initial wage order released.
30 day objection

period begins
03/10/19

Final wage order
published by

07/01/19
HB 1729 Effective

08/28/18

1,000 HOURS 1,000 HOURS

CONTRACTOR’S WAGE SURVEYS MAY BE SUBMITTED BEGINNING SEPTEMBER 17, 2018.
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MORE INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE AT
LABOR.MO.GOV/PREVAILING-WAGE


