Process for Injured Workers

If you are injured on the job or have been exposed to occupational disease in the course and scope of your employment, the Missouri Workers’ Compensation law provides some relief from the financial strain of being injured and/or unable to return to work. Upon the death of a worker who has suffered a compensable work injury, certain surviving individuals may become entitled to benefits as well. If you are injured or have been exposed to occupational diseases on the job or you are entitled to survivor benefits, please follow the guidelines below. These guidelines contain information that may be beneficial to you.

Kids' Chance of Missouri - Scholarships

Take these steps when injured:

  1. Report Your Injury

    Report Your Injury immediately to your employer or supervisor. Failure to report your injury to your employer within 30 days may jeopardize your ability to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Read More…

    Report Your Workplace Injury/Occupational Disease or Repetitive Trauma Injury (WC-280)

  2. Get Medical Care

    The employer or insurer is required to provide the medical treatment and care to cure and relieve the employee from the effects of the injury. Read More…

  3. Benefits Available

    In addition to medical benefits, an employee may be entitled to temporary total disability benefits and permanent partial or permanent total disability benefits. Read More…

    Disability Schedule and Benefit Limits (WC-110)

  4. Resolve Your Case (Claim)

    If you believe that you have not received all benefits due to you and you have contacted your employer or the insurance company and the problem still has not been resolved, you may wish to review the page titled Resolve Your Case (Claim). Once an employee has gone through the hearing process and an administrative law judge has issued an award, the employee has the right to file an application for review with the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission within 20 days of the date of the award. Read More…

  5. Appealing the Decision

    Once an employee has gone through the hearing process and an administrative law judge has issued an award, the employee has the right to file an application for review with the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission within 20 days of the date of the award. There is no appeal to the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission from any agreement, of settlement, or compromise of any dispute that has been approved by an administrative law judge. Read More…

DISCLAIMER - More Information

The Injured Workers section of the Workers' Compensation portion of this web site is targeted specifically to injured workers and is intended to be a resource throughout the workers' compensation claim process. It is NOT intended to be a substitute for legal representation.

Employers seeking information about the workers' compensation process and their responsibilities regarding workers' compensation should use the Employers section of the Workers' Compensation portion of this web site to find information targeted specifically to them.

Additional information about Missouri Workers' Compensation laws, the Division of Workers Compensation, the Second Injury Fund and more may be found via the Workers' Compensation home page.

Please keep in mind the information specialist cannot act as your legal counsel and cannot give you legal advice. The information specialist can provide you with general information but cannot advise you whether the settlement offer is appropriate for your injury.