Missouri's Increase in Minimum Wage
Missouri’s minimum wage workers will see a pay increase this year, because the state’s minimum wage rate rose from $7.25 to $7.35. This is the first time Missouri’s minimum wage has increased since 2009.
The minimum wage rate is based on the state’s Consumer Price Index and is adjusted annually to reflect the cost of living. According to Missouri law, the state’s minimum wage rate cannot be lower than the federal minimum wage rate, currently $7.25 per hour.
Employers engaged in retail or service businesses with an annual gross income more than $500,000 are required to pay their employees the state minimum wage rate. Employers that are not subject to the minimum wage law can pay employees wages of their choosing.
Employers are required to display several posters in the workplace pertaining to worker rights. You can find the 2013 Minimum Wage Summary Poster and other required workplace posters here. The Spanish version of the poster is also available.
Are you a tipped employee? Your employer must pay you at least 50 percent of the minimum wage ($3.675 per hour), and make up the remaining amount of the minimum wage if you do not earn the rest in tips.
If you are a minimum wage earner and did not see the 10-cent increase on your gross pay, you can file a Minimum Wage Complaint to begin an investigation with the Division of Labor Standards (DLS). Watch the Worker Protection Center’s Wage Complaint video.