FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Amy Susan 573-751-1518
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 14, 2012
Hy-Vee Violates Child Labor Law, Fined $3,200
Independence, Mo- After receiving a complaint, the Missouri Labor Department conducted an investigation and found Hy-Vee, Inc., of Independence, in violation of the Missouri child labor law.
Hy-Vee, Inc., was found in violation for employing two children under the age of 14, not having work certificates on file, not having a posted list of child employees, and not maintaining personnel files. The penalty assessed for these violations is $3,200. Hy-Vee, Inc., paid the civil penalty, and signed a settlement agreement to remain in compliance with Missouri’s Child Labor Law in the future.
Violations of Missouri’s Child Labor Law are class C misdemeanors, which are punishable by up to 15 days in jail, a $300 fine, or both. If it is found that the employer made money from the commission of the crime, the fine may equal to twice the value of the gain, up to $20,000. The case has been referred to the Jackson County Prosecuting Attorney for consideration for criminal prosecution. So far in 2012, the Department has referred two cases for prosecution and collected more than $12,394 in fines from child labor investigations.
Youth under 14 years of age generally are not permitted to work at any job (other than in entertainment or casual jobs) at any time. Youth who are 14 or 15 generally are permitted to work, but their work (as well as the work of all children in the entertainment industry) is subject to several restrictions. For more information about acceptable jobs and hours for youth or to file a child labor complaint, visit http://labor.mo.gov/DLS/YouthEmployment/child_labor.asp.
421 East Dunklin Street, P.O. Box 504, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0504
Phone: 573-751-7500 Fax: 573-751-6552