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WageS AND HOURS



Minimum Wage
Most employers must pay their employees the state 
minimum wage rate. (Employers engaged in retail or 
service businesses with annual gross incomes of less than 
$500,000 are not required to pay the state minimum wage 
rate.) Tipped employees must be paid half of the state 
minimum wage rate. However, if the tipped employee does 
not make up the other half of the minimum wage in tips, 
the employer is required to pay the difference. Employers 
not subject to the minimum wage law can pay employees 
wages of their choosing.

Employees who feel they have not been compensated 
appropriately should file a complaint with the Division 
of Labor Standards (DLS). Visit www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/
minimumwage for current state and federal minimum 
wage rates or to file a complaint.

ReducTIONs/Deductions from an 
Employee’s Wages
Reduction – An employer may reduce an employee’s wages, 
provided the employee is given a 30‑day advance written 
notice of a reduction in wages. This notice requirement 
does not apply if an employee is asked to work fewer hours 
or changes to a different position with different duties. 
Any company or corporation violating this requirement 
shall pay each affected person $50, which can be recovered 
through court action.

Deduction – An employer may deduct 
funds from an employee’s wages for 
cash register shortages, damage to 
equipment, repayment of a cash 
advance or loan, for purchases made 
at the place of business, or for similar 
reasons. Deductions can be made 
from an employee’s wages as long as 
the deductions do not take the employee’s 
wages below the required minimum wage rate.

http://www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/minimumwage
http://www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/minimumwage


Work Hours, Travel, and Overtime Pay
Work Hours – There is no minimum 
or maximum number of hours an 
employee may be scheduled or asked 
to work. This is in accordance with 
the Fair Labor Standards Act. Both 
Missouri and federal labor laws 
require most employers to pay or 
compensate their employees for the 
number of actual hours worked.

Travel Time – Generally, time spent 
commuting from home to the workplace is not considered 
work time. However, time spent traveling during normal 
work hours as part of the job is considered work time 
and employees are entitled to be paid for this travel time. 
Such travel time will be taken into account as work time 
in determining whether employees have been paid the 
minimum wage rate.

Overtime Pay – Employers must pay at least one and 
one-half times the employee’s regular rate of pay when 
overtime pay is in effect. Overtime pay begins once an 
employee works more than 40 hours in a work week. 
Overtime pay is not required under the federal or state 
minimum wage laws when an employee works more than 
8 hours in a day, so long as the employee has not worked 
more than 40 hours in a work week. State and federal laws 
do not allow employees to voluntarily waive their rights 
to overtime pay and accept straight time instead. Any 
employer that asks an employee to do so violates the law. 
For more information about overtime compensation and 
work hours, see Chapter 290.505, RSMo.

Discharged Employee and Final Wages
Missouri follows the Employment-At-Will Doctrine. This 
means that both the employer and employee can terminate 
the employment relationship at any time and for any 
reason, as long as there is no employment contract to 
the contrary, there is no discrimination under civil rights 



laws (based on race, color, age, national origin, religion, 
ancestry, sex, or physical/mental disability), no merit 
laws apply, or the state’s limited public policy exception 
does not apply. Under Missouri’s limited public policy 
exception to the Employment-at-Will Doctrine, an employer 
may not discharge an at-will employee for (1) refusing 
to violate a law; (2) reporting violations of the law; (3) 

acting in a manner strongly encouraged 
by public policy; or (4) asserting a legal 

right, for example, filing a workers’ 
compensation claim.

Employers are required to pay a 
discharged employee all wages due 
at the time of dismissal. State law 

does not require payment of earned 
vacation time at the time of termination. 

However, an employee has the right to attempt recovery of 
earned vacation time through the courts.

Breaks, Lunches, and Personal Time Off
Missouri law does not require employers to provide 
employees, including youth workers, a break of any kind, 
including a lunch hour. These provisions are either left 
up to the discretion of the employer, can be agreed upon 
by the employer and employee, or may be addressed by 
company policy or contract.

Vacation Pay and Sick Leave
Employers are not required to provide vacation pay, holiday 
pay, or severance pay – these are benefits given at an 
employer’s discretion. The exception would 
be instances where an employer has 
entered into a contract where certain 
benefits are established by agreement.

Employers are not required to offer 
paid sick leave or any other type of 
paid fringe benefit; this is left up 
to the employer’s discretion, or to 
any contract agreement the employer 



may have with its employees. Likewise, an employer may 
provide sick leave and vacation benefits to one group of 
employees, but not to others, as long as the employer 
does not discriminate based upon age, race, sex, religion, 
national origin, etc.

Illness and FMLA Protections
If an employee missed work due to either his or her own 
illness, or to that of a family member, the employee may 
qualify for job protections under the Family and Medical 
Leave Act, which is a federal law administered by the U.S. 
Department of Labor (USDOL). Missouri has no comparable 
state law.

Prevailing Wage
Missouri’s Prevailing Wage Law 
preserves local wage rates by 
establishing a minimum wage rate that 
must be paid to workers on public works 
construction projects, such as bridges, 
roads, and government buildings, in Missouri.

The prevailing wage rate differs by county and type of work 
performed. 

The prevailing wage applies to all public works projects 
constructed by or on behalf of state and local public 
bodies. 

The Missouri Prevailing Wage is established based on wage 
information from actual construction projects provided by 
public entities, commercial contractors, labor organizations 
and interested parties. As hours of work are completed, a 
contactor should submit a “Contractor’s Wage Survey” to 
the DLS.

To submit the Contractor’s Wage Survey electronically, visit
www.labor.mo.gov/forms/PWS or submit a Form LS-04 in 
paper format.

To learn more about the law, rules, current prevailing wage 
rates, or to file a wage complaint, visit www.labor.mo.gov/
DLS/prevailingwage.

http://www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/prevailingwage
http://www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/prevailingwage


Authority of the Department of Labor 
and Industrial Relations
While the DLS does not have the authority to legally compel 
employers to pay employees the wages they are owed, 
the DLS does investigate all wage complaints. The DLS 
encourages workers to file a wage complaint if they feel 
they have not been properly compensated. It also is the 

employees’ right to take legal action and 
seek relief through the courts. If the 

amount due in back wages is less than 
$5,000, workers may file their claim 
in Small Claims Court, where costs 
are less and it is easier to proceed 
without hiring private legal counsel. 

Individuals attempting to recover 
amounts above $5,000 should pursue a 

private right of action in circuit court.

Even if an employee expected to be paid at a rate higher 
than the minimum wage rate, the DLS can only determine 
back wages due to the employee based on the difference 
between the wages actually received and the statutorily 
required minimum wage rate. However, an employee may 
have a basis (such as an employment contract requiring 
payment at the higher wage rate) to pursue a private 
legal remedy with regard to the remaining wages. (If the 
Prevailing Wage Law applies, the DLS can only calculate 
the wages due based on the difference between the wages 
actually received and the applicable prevailing wage rate.)



Discrimination
The Missouri Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination 
in any aspect of employment based on race, color, religion, 
national origin, ancestry, sex, disability, and age, including:

•	 Hiring and firing
•	 Compensation, assignment, or classification of 

employees
•	 Transfer, promotion, layoff, or recall
•	 Job advertisements
•	 Recruitment
•	 Testing
•	 Use of company facilities
•	 Training and apprenticeship programs
•	 Fringe benefits
•	 Pay, retirement plans, or disability leave 
•	 Other terms and conditions of employment.

If you have been discriminated against, you may file 
a complaint with the Missouri Commission on Human 
Rights. Visit www.labor.mo.gov/mohumanrights for more 
information.
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