
Missouri’s New Prevailing Wage Law
Legislation (HB 1729) passed by the Missouri General Assembly and signed by the Governor became effective August 28, 2018. This new law 
makes several changes to Missouri’s prevailing wage (PW) system.

The Division of Labor Standards published Annual Wage Order 26 on July 1st, 2019, which uses the new law to calculate and establish Missouri’s 
Prevailing Wage rates.

Is my project a Public Works Project?

Is the engineer’s estimate or the bid accepted by the public body above $75,000?

NO •	 PW/PWCMW do not apply
•	 Minimum Wage still applies
•	 Contractors/Subcontractors may 

report hours (excluding those from 
“federally-registered apprentices” and 
“entry-level workers”) worked on 
non-residential projects to be used in 
calculating the Annual Wage Order.

YES

Above $75,000
Public works projects are subject to either PW or PWCMW depending on 
whether 1,000 hours are reported (see below).

Reportable Hours
Were 1,000 or more hours reported in the county where the project is 
located in a particular occupational title last year? (Refer to latest annual 
wage order at https://labor.mo.gov/DLS/PrevailingWage/awo.)

*Hours worked on 
holidays will be paid at 

twice the normal rate 
(including fringe 

benefits). Overtime 
hours will be paid at time and a half 

of the normal rate (including 
fringe benefits). Also applies to 

overtime and holiday pay 
of “federally-registered 

apprentices” and 
“entry-level 

workers.”

Apprentices and 
Entry-Level 

Workers
Were hours worked 
by a “federally-
registered 
apprentice” or 
“entry-level 
worker?”

Employers may hire 
one federally-registered 
“apprentice” or “entry-level 
worker” for each journeyman 
hired and pay them no less 
than 50% of the pay (including 
fringe benefits) of a journeyman 
in their same occupational title.

Hours worked by “federally-
registered apprentices” or 
“entry-level workers” on public 
works projects are not eligible 
to be used in calculating the 
Annual Wage Order.

Under 1,000 Hours*
•	 The PWCMW (120% of the average county wage) 

will be used instead of the PW.

Under $75,000
•	 Public works projects valued at 

$75,000 and under are not subject to the 
prevailing wage law.

•	 Public works projects valued at 
$10,000 and under are not subject to a 
competitive bidding process.

•	 Minimum wage still applies.

No project may be split up into smaller 
projects valued at less than $75,000 to 
evade the requirement to pay PW or 
PWCMW.

More information on how the prevailing wage is calculated may be found at https://labor.mo.gov/prevailing-wage.

The list of occupational titles has been consolidated and reduced to 20. Those submitting hours may continue to use the same occupational titles as in the past. The 
online reporting system will automatically sort this information into the correct titles set forth in statute.

Prevailing wage hours submitted to the Division of Labor Standards may be entered online. Those reporting information via the online system will receive a copy 
of their submission by email. Handwritten submissions will not be accepted.

Anyone submitting false information to the Missouri Division of Labor Standards may be subject to criminal prosecution under state law (Sections 290.340, 
570.090, 575.040 or 575.050 or 575.060, RSMo.)

YESReporting Hours**
Are you a contractor/subcontractor?

DOLIR will only use hours 
reported by contractors 
(including subcontractors) 
on non-residential projects 
(both public and private and 
whether or not the projects 
were subject to a collective 
bargaining agreement) in 
calculating the new Annual 
Wage Order in 2019. Other 
interested parties may 
contribute data such as 
wages, occupational titles 
and the location of projects 
but such information will 
not be included in actual rate 
calculations.

DOLIR will only use the 
hours reported by contractors 
(including subcontractors) 
on non-residential projects in 
calculating the new Annual 
Wage Order in 2019. This 
includes both public and 
private projects, whether or 
not the projects were subject 
to a collective bargaining 
agreement.

YESNO

NO

NO YES

NO YES

1,000 Hours and Above*
•	 The PW rate will be a weighted average of the 

total wage and fringe benefit package of all 
journeyman hours submitted by contractors/
subcontractors.

•	 Only hours reported by contractors/subcontractors 
on non-residential projects will be used to 
calculate the new annual wage order.
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