Unemployment Tax Tips for Employers

- 1. Ensure the employer's business information on file with the Division of Employment Security (DES) is correct. Owner, partners, officers, addresses, phone numbers, and entity changes should be updated in DES files. Contact the DES if you close, sell, or transfer your business. Also, let the DES know if you no longer have employees to report.
- 2. Open and promptly respond to mail received from DES and/or correspondence in <u>uinteract.labor.mo.gov</u>. Many items are time sensitive and have a specific deadline.
- 3. File Quarterly Contribution and Wage (CW) Reports timely. Filing on time will prevent a late penalty from being assessed against your employer account. Contact the DES to determine a payment plan if you are unable to pay the taxes due.
- 4. File State Unemployment Tax Act (SUTA) reports to take the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) credit of 5.4 percent; thereby, paying only 0.6 percent instead of 6.0 percent.
- 5. File Quarterly Contribution and Wage Reports and make payments online at <u>uinteract.labor.mo.gov</u>. It is more efficient and will calculate excess wages and taxes due automatically.
- 6. Report probationary employees properly to prevent benefit charges against your account when the probationary employee files a claim for unemployment benefits. For reporting, employees are considered on probation for the first 28 calendar days of employment.
- 7. Report exempt employment and cafeteria plan wages properly. Some common errors found during employer audits that result in credits are reporting exempt employment (such as sole proprietors reporting family employment), or reporting cafeteria plan wages to Missouri.
- 8. Properly classify and report workers and officer payments to avoid additional taxes due. Some common errors found during employer audits that result in additional taxes due are the misclassification of workers as independent contractors and not properly reporting officer payments and casual or part-time workers.
- 9. Contact the DES for clarification if you need assistance. For example, you can ask for a determination on whether a working relationship is considered an employer/employee or independent contractor relationship.
- 10. Maintain sufficient documentation to justify any federal 1099 forms that you issue. Issuing a 1099 does not automatically make a worker an independent contractor. The DES will make that determination based on a thorough investigation of the facts.
- 11. Use the correct UI Rate assigned to your account. New and existing employers can log into <u>uinteract.labor</u>. <u>mo.gov</u> to access their rate information. To help avoid using incorrect rates, it is important to not use outdated reports or reports printed for other employer's accounts to file their quarterly report.
- 12. Ensure all protests to paying unemployment benefits are made timely. You also can request to be informed in the future if the worker files another claim for unemployment benefits.
- 13. Maintain good records regarding amounts paid to your workers for three calendar years, plus the current year.

IMPORTANT: If needed, call 573-751-1995 for assistance in thetranslation and understanding of the information in this document.

¡IMPORTANTE!: Si es necesario, llame al 573-751-1995 para asistencia en la traducción y entendimiento de la información en este documento.

Missouri Division of Employment Security is anequal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

