

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING UNEMPLOYMENT TAX REGISTRATION

If you need assistance completing this form or have any questions concerning the Missouri Employment Security Law, call 573-751-1995.

The Missouri Division of Employment Security is the state agency responsible for administering the Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits and tax program.

The Division received information showing you are a potential employer in Missouri. For this reason, you are being provided the enclosed **Unemployment Tax Registration** (MODES-2699) form.

Missouri Employment Security Law requires completion of this form. Complete the form in its entirety. Be sure to include a telephone number where you can be contacted if follow-up information or clarification is needed.

An employing unit must notify the Division in writing within 30 days from the date it becomes liable to pay contributions as an employer.

An employer must notify the Division in writing when it acquires all or part of another business entity within 30 days from the date of the acquisition.

• By providing your email on the Unemployment Tax Registration, you will be enrolled to receive e-mail news and alerts.

BUSINESS TYPE

When completing this form, if your business is a:

Sole Proprietorship (Individual) – do not include wages paid to yourself, your spouse, mother, father, or children under the age of 21 (natural, adopted, step, or foster).

Partnership - do not include wages paid to the partners.

Corporation – include wages paid to a corporate officer if the officer performs services and is compensated by the corporation.

Limited Liability Company (LLC) – include wages according to how your company is taxed – sole proprietorship (individual), partnership, or corporation.

For all types of ownership – include all wages of regular, part-time, and casual workers performing service in the usual course of your business.

EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

How is Liability Established According to Missouri Employment Security Law?

1. A general business employer becomes liable when it meets one or more of the following:

- Has a total payroll of \$1,500 or more in a calendar quarter
- Employs a worker (not necessarily the same worker) for some portion of a day in 20 different weeks in a calendar year
- Is determined a successor to a liable Missouri employer
- Is liable under the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) and employs a worker in Missouri.

- 2. An **agricultural employer** becomes liable when it has (in all states combined) 10 or more workers (not necessarily the same 10 workers) in 20 different weeks in a calendar year or pays \$20,000 or more in cash wages in a calendar quarter, during the current or preceding year.
- 3. An **employer of a domestic or household worker** in a private home, college sorority, or fraternity becomes liable when \$1,000 or more in cash wages are paid in a calendar quarter.
- 4. A non-profit organization described in Section 501(C)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code becomes liable in Missouri, if it employs four or more workers for some portion of a day in 20 different weeks during a calendar year. The workers employed do not have to be the same four workers and they do not have to work during the same time of the day. If the employing entity wishes to be treated as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, they must attach proof of IRS non-profit certification.
- 5. A **governmental entity** is liable when it employs a worker regardless of the amount of wages paid or number of weeks worked.

An employing entity that is not liable under any of these liability standards can still request approval for **voluntary election of coverage**. Complete this form and attach a letter requesting voluntary election of coverage.

An employer is liable for all employment for the entire year and continues to be liable for following years until a Division determination terminates its liability.

This form must be completed and returned to the Division even if you do not have employees. If you do not have employees and do not anticipate having employees, provide an explanation on this form.

If there are workers who perform services for your business and you do not consider them to be employees, explain and submit documentation.

If you lease your workers from another business, provide all requested information on this form.

If determined to be a liable employer, the Division will mail you a written determination of liability. This determination will include your tax rate, account number, and any Missouri Quarterly Contribution and Wage Reports (MODES-4-5) you need to complete. Contribution and Wage Reports are required to be filed on a quarterly basis. It is important to file Contribution and Wage Reports timely to avoid interest and penalty charges.

If your business is not a liable employer at the time of filing this form, the Division may continue to follow-up periodically to update your status as a potential employing unit.

For more information, visit the DES website at <u>labor.mo.gov/DES</u>.

IMPORTANT: If needed, call 573-751-1995 for assistance in the translation and understanding of the information in this document. *¡IMPORTANTE!*: Si es necesario, llame al 573-751-1995 para asistencia en la traducción y entendimiento de la información en este documento.

Missouri Division of Employment Security is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966 Relay Missouri: 711