EARNED PAID SICK TIME

Beginning May 1, 2025, employees accrue and are entitled to earned paid sick time at the rate of 1 hour of earned paid sick time for every 30 hours of work and may use the time subject to the limits and terms under sections 290.600 through 290.642 of Missouri law. Employers with 15 or more employees shall provide up to 56 hours of earned paid sick time per year and employers with fewer than 15 employees shall provide up to 40 hours of earned paid sick time unless the employer selects a higher limit



EXCEPTIONS

All businesses are required to pay Earned Paid Sick Time, except certain exempt employees/employers defined in Section 290.600(5), RSMo. The Missouri Earned Paid Sick Time Law does not apply to public employers nor does it apply to retail or service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than \$500,000. It also does not interfere with collective bargaining agreement rights that were in effect on November 5, 2024.



EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

It is unlawful for an employer or any other person to interfere with, restrain, or deny the exercise of, or the attempt to exercise, any right protected under sections 290.600 through 290.642. An employer's absence control policy cannot count earned paid sick time taken under sections 290.600 through 290.642 as an absence that may lead to or result in discipline, discharge, demotion, suspension, or any other adverse action.



RETALIATION PROHIBITED

It is prohibited for an employer to take retaliatory personnel action against employees who request or use earned paid sick time as allowed under sections 290.600 through 290.642. Each employee has the right to bring a civil action for the full amount of unpaid earned sick time plus any actual damages suffered as the result of the employer's violation of sections 290.600 through 290.642, an additional amount equal to twice any unpaid earned sick time as liquidated damages, attorney's fees, other equitable relief appropriate to remedy the violation and reinstatement to employment.

LEARN MORE AT LABOR.MO.GOV/DLS/PROPOSITION-A-PAID-SICK-TIME-BENEFITS-FAQS



421 East Dunklin Street P.O. Box 449 Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449

573-751-3403 Fax: 573-751-3721

laborstandards@labor.mo.gov