If you feel you have been discriminated against and want the Missouri Commission on Human Rights to investigate or if you want to sue in court, you need to file a complaint.
Complaints under the Missouri Human Rights Act must be filed with the Missouri Human Rights Commission within 180 days of the alleged discrimination.
Federal law allows 300 days for filing employment discrimination complaints with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and 365 days for housing discrimination complaints with the Department of Housing and Urban Development.
Already filed a complaint? You can request a Notice of Right to Sue to file suit in state court.
To File a Discrimination Complaint:
To file a discrimination complaint with MCHR, you must first take the Discrimination Complaint Assessment. This is a short series of up to four questions designed to determine if MCHR has jurisdiction over your issue.
Once the assessment is completed, you will be given instructions on how to proceed.
If you believe you have been subjected to discrimination while receiving services from or applying for employment with the Missouri Department of Labor, you may file an Equal Opportunity Discrimination Complaint.