Google Translate

Training & Presentations

Training & Presentations

The Missouri Department of Labor offers speakers who can provide presentations and training for your business, organization and workers. To sign up, fill out the training request form. We can even customize a training to fit your needs. If you have questions, call 573-522-2296.

Sign up for a Speaker/Training

The Department offers speakers and training on the following topics:

 

Implicit Bias

Missouri is increasingly diverse. Society’s negative assumptions and stereotyping, even when not made consciously, can be an obstacle for full inclusion for all. This training explains what implicit bias is and suggests practices for identifying and reducing it to foster greater openness in your organization and maximize its performance.

 

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Department of Labor Overview

The Missouri Department of Labor’s programs and application of law effect every business and employee in the state. The Department can help you grow your business, keep workers safe and even help avoid layoffs. Our speakers can provide information on topics from unemployment to anti-discriminatory practices, properly classifying workers, minimum wage, prevailing wage, youth employment, mine and cave safety, workplace safety, workers’ compensation and public sector employee unions. Whether you are looking for a broad overview of the Department or would like individual Divisions to provide detailed information about the programs and laws they administer, we can tailor a presentation for your group’s interests and needs.

Duration - 30 minutes (Overview), ~2.5 hours (in-depth)   Sign Up!

Disability Awareness

Through this training, participants will better understand people with disabilities and ways to ensure a positive and productive environment. Discussion will include ways to remove unnecessary barriers and stereotypes.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Diversity and Inclusion

The Missouri workforce is increasingly diverse. This training discusses ways to overcome resistance to change and inclusion, foster an attitude of openness in your organization, and eliminate profiling and stereotypes in the workplace that can lead to a discriminatory and illegal workplace environment. This training will also effectively expose the problems caused by stereotypical thinking and biased behaviors.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Employment Discrimination Laws and Prevention

When does innocent flirtation turn into unlawful harassment? When is an individual entitled to a reasonable accommodation of a disability in the workplace? Learn the answers to these questions and many more in this training designed to provide participants with a practical understanding of the requirements of the equal opportunity employment laws, including those pertaining to sex, disability, age, race, color, national origin, ancestry, religion, association, and retaliation.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Free Student Presentations

Our speakers provide a wide variety of topics for students whether they are elementary, high school, or college age. Of particular interest to students are our presentations on discrimination (diversity, sexual harassment, etc.) and youth employment (acceptable/unacceptable work and hours for youth).

Sign Up!

Hazard Lab

Get a closer look at everyday tools and work environments and let the experts shine a light on hidden dangers. A total of 30 different workstations present real hazards found in various industries. Due to large display requirements and extended set-up times, this is recommended for large groups or conferences.

Sign Up!

Housing Discrimination Laws and Prevention

Focusing on requirements of fair housing laws pertaining to discrimination based on sex, disability, familial status, race, color, national origin, ancestry, religion, association, and retaliation. This training discusses issues such as accessibility and reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities, the requirements for providing housing choice to families with children, and best practices for housing professionals, such as realtors, property managers, and lenders, to comply with fair housing laws.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Are You Off the Books?
How to Properly Classify Your Workers - 1099 Information

Confused about what constitutes an employee or a contractor? This presentation provides an overview of the standards used when determining a worker's classification for unemployment insurance. Participants will learn the twenty-factors used to evaluate the working relationship as well as required records.

Duration - 1 to 2 hours   Sign Up!

Investigating Discrimination Complaints

This training offers practical procedures for investigating discrimination complaints and includes recommended ways to protect principal parties, interview witnesses, and take appropriate responsive action. Requests for this training can be tailored to discrimination complaints in employment, housing, and/or public accommodations or for local human rights organizations.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

*This training can also be tailored up to three days if necessary and/or requested, with our fee applying hourly or by negotiation.

Mine and Cave Safety and Health

Designed to help miners and the mining community reduce accidents through education, training, hazard elimination, and assistance provided to miners in accordance with Missouri state laws and regulations and the Federal Mine Act of 1977. On-site training and consultation are available and tailored to your site. A brief consultation and inspection audit will be arranged by one of the Division's MSHA certified instructors to determine your needs.

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

On-Site Overview: OSHA Regulations and Inspection Procedures

This presentation will not only provide an overview of the Missouri On-Site Safety and Health Consultation Program and the Safety and Health Recognition Program (SHARP) but will also provide information on achieving OSHA compliance as well as how to implement a workplace safety and health management program.

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

Overview of the Missouri Human Rights Act

This training explains the fair employment, housing, and public accommodations rights and responsibilities under the Missouri Human Rights Act and details the administrative complaint process from intake through public hearing.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

Lending Discrimination Laws and Prevention

This training can be tailored to lenders, to ensure their compliance with the requirements of the fair housing portions of the Missouri Human Rights Act, or to individuals, to help them recognize and avoid discriminatory lending practices and understand and access their rights under fair housing laws.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Prevailing Wage/Public Works Construction/Construction Safety Training

This presentation provides information concerning coverage and payment of prevailing wage rates on Missouri Public Works projects, construction projects funded by or partially or benefit taxpaying citizens. The prevailing wage rates differ by county and for different types of work. The goal is to establish better understanding of the prevailing wage law and communication with interested parties to assist in achieving voluntary compliance. The required construction safety training is a program, similar to the OSHA-10 Construction Safety training, that requires any worker working on a Missouri public works projects to be certified in as required by law.

Duration - 2 hours   Sign Up!

Public Accommodations Discrimination Laws and Prevention

This training discusses anti-discrimination laws in places of public accommodations. It provides guidance on the non-discriminatory provision of advantages, facilities, services, or privileges, such as accessibility and equal access to all facilities open to the general public.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

Sexual Harassment Laws and Prevention

What is sexual harassment? When does it create an unlawful, hostile environment? This training updates participants on new developments in sexual harassment law, gives practical examples of sexually harassing behavior through real case scenarios, offers guidance for both complainants and respondents, and shares best practices for investigating and preventing sexual harassment.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration- 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Shared Work Program - Layoff Alternative

This presentation will provide an overview of the Missouri Shared Work program as a cost-effective alternative to a layoff and a practical means of retaining employees when business slows, whether due to inclement weather, stagnant customer orders or even a plant expansion. Participants will learn how both large and small employers in any industry, employees and local economies benefit from the Shared Work program. The presentation can be customized for employees, business groups or even specific industry groups. We can also work with you on qualifying for continuing education credits.

Duration - 20 minutes (Overview) up to 2 hours (in-depth)   Sign Up!

Survivor Benefits/Line of Duty Benefits

The Line of Duty Compensation Act provides benefits to the survivors of air ambulance pilots, air ambulance registered nurses, emergency medical technicians, firefighters, and, for deaths occurring on or after August 28, 2018, for survivors of air ambulance registered respiratory therapists, flight crew members, and public safety officers, who are killed in the line of duty. This presentation explains the provisions of the 2009 law and changes implemented in 2014, 2017, and 2018 allowing survivors to file a Claim with the Division of Workers’ Compensation and the creation of a distribution plan for compensation payment.

Duration - 20 minutes   Sign Up!

Unemployment Insurance Overview

The unemployment process can be confusing for both employers and workers. This presentation will focus on the rights and responsibilities of employers and claimants and demystify how the unemployment insurance program and appeals process work. The presentation can be customized for business groups and partner agencies. We can also work with you on qualifying for continuing education credits.

The Division of Employment Security administers the Missouri Unemployment Compensation Law by collecting tax contributions from employers and paying unemployment benefits to individuals who are determined eligible under the law.  All decisions rendered in regard to contributions and benefits may be appealed.

Sign Up!

Wage and Hour Standards and Youth Employment

Wage and Hour Standards The Wage and Hour Standards presentation can provide information to you and your group concerning minimum wage, breaks, vacation, overtime, and employment relationships. Youth Employment presentation is designed to help employers, school officials, parents, and public interest groups learn about their rights and responsibilities under the child labor law. This presentation will also include a discussion on how routine inspections are performed to ensure compliance and how compliance protects the health and safety of working youth by assuring that youth are not working in prohibited or hazardous occupations.

Duration - 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Workers' Compensation Laws

his presentation will provide a general overview of the Missouri Workers’ Compensation System and can be customized to focus on the particular concerns of employees, employers, insurers, health care providers, or others.

Duration - 20 minutes   Sign Up!

Workplace Harassment Laws and Prevention

When does joking, simple teasing, or horseplay cross the line of acceptable workplace behavior? When does a personality conflict transform into harassment? This training provides an overview of the various types of possible workplace harassment – whether based on sex, disability, age, race, color, national origin, ancestry, religion, association, and/or retaliation. Participants will learn what constitutes illegal workplace harassment, what does not, and gain a better understanding of workers' rights and responsibilities for responding to harassing behavior.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

On-Site Safety & Health Logo

On-Site Safety Consultation

Interested in providing a safe workplace for you and your workers? The Division of Labor Standards’ On-Site Health and Safety Consultation program can provide safety and health consultants for OSHA-type “mock” inspections for your workplace at no cost and without assessing fines or penalties. Consultants also can provide training and assistance in the preparation of site-specific written safety and health programs.

The employer always sets the scope of the visit, so the consultation can include the entire workplace or it can be limited to a specific area or phase of the workplace. The only obligation is to correct the hazards identified by the consultant.

During the walk through, the safety and health consultant will identify and discuss any potential hazards and suggest the best and most cost - effective solutions. Consultants also can provide training and assistance in the preparation of site-specific written safety and health programs.

For companies who have excellent safety and health management programs, the On-site Consultation Program administers the Safety and Health Recognition Program (SHARP) Participants in SHARP are eligible to receive up to a 3 year exemption from OSHA programmed inspections

Sign Up for Safety Consultation

Workers' Compensation Fraud and Noncompliance

This presentation from the Workers’ Compensation Fraud and Noncompliance Unit will assist employers, insurance companies and Third-Party Administrators in combating fraud and avoiding costly mistakes, fines and prosecutions.

Sign Up!

Workers' Compensation Adjudication Process and Case Law Update

Participants in this presentation will receive an overview of the various docket settings and applicable request forms provided by the Division of Workers’ Compensation. Upon request, participants may also receive updates on recent decisions issued by the reviewing courts and recent legislative changes to the Workers’ Compensation Law.

Sign Up!

Medical Fee Disputes

Designed to help healthcare providers, employers, and insurers navigate the ins and outs of the Medical Fee Dispute program, medical charges and requirements under the Workers’ Compensation Law, this presentation will outline both the differences between “Reasonableness” and “Direct Pay” medical fee disputes and how the Medical Fee Dispute program can be utilized for outstanding charges and fees for treatment and services provided to injured workers.

Sign Up!

Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing

All governmental agencies and municipalities that receive federal funds have a duty to affirmatively further fair housing (AFFH). This training offers participants an overview of the origination and history of this AFFH requirement, assists in effectively understanding the purpose and definition of their AFFH obligation, and offers tools and resources to aid in fulfilling AFFH duties.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!