Google Translate

Application Deadline Approaching for Disaster Unemployment Benefits for Flood and Tornado Victims in Six Missouri Counties

Application Deadline Approaching for Disaster Unemployment Benefits for Flood and Tornado Victims in Six Missouri Counties

Wed, 08/28/2019

JEFFERSON CITY – The Missouri Department of Labor’s Division of Employment Security will accept applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) for individuals in six Missouri counties through September 5, 2019 whose employment was lost or interrupted due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began April 29, 2019 and ended July 5, 2019. A disaster assistance amendment was declared on August 5, 2019 that allowed Missourians in the six additional counties of Callaway, Jefferson, Lewis, McDonald, Newton and Saline to apply for DUA. The DUA application deadline for individuals in the original twenty Missouri disaster-declared counties was August 9, 2019.

Eligibility for DUA is determined on a week-to-week basis and individuals can only receive benefits for as long as his or her unemployment continues as a result of the disaster.

To be eligible for DUA benefits under Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA-4451-DR, and Amendment 3 individuals:

Must be an unemployed or self-employed worker whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the major disaster declared by the President
Must be a U.S. national or a qualified alien; and
Must not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state; and
Must have worked or were self-employed in, or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment in, one of the counties listed above; and
Must establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income.
Also eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who:

Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of a disaster; or
Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; or
Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of the household; or
Cannot work or perform self-employment due to closure of a facility by the federal government.
Applicants are required to provide proof that they were employed or self-employed at the time the disaster occurred or were scheduled to begin work when the disaster occurred. This proof of employment must be filed with the initial claim or within 21 days of filling their DUA claim. To claim, individuals will need their Social Security Number and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs may also be required (self-employed individuals should also provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F).

To file a DUA claim online 24/7 visit For assistance with filing a claim, call your Regional Claims Center (see below) Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Missourians impacted by the severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding in all the declared counties can register for additional assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at (800) 621-3362, TTY (800) 462-7585, or register with FEMA online at

Regional Claims Centers:

Jefferson City……………………573-751-9040

Kansas City………………………816-889-3101

St. Louis …………………………314-340-4950

Springfield ………………………417-895-6851

Outside Local Calling Area ……..800-320-2519

To find additional resources across the state, visit the Missouri Recovery Portal at


Contact Information