Division of Labor Standards

About Labor Standards

The Division of Labor Standards consists of five sections: Mine and Cave Safety, On-Site Safety and Health Consultation Program, Research and Analysis, Wage and Hour, and Workers' Safety. The Division determines and enforces Missouri’s Child Labor Law and Minimum Wage Law. The Division offers a free consultation service to employers to ensure they comply with federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulations and inspects mine and cave sites, trains miners in the practice of implementing safe and healthy working habits.

About the Director

Todd Smith - Director, Division of Labor Standards

Prior to founding Strategic Methods, LLC, a governmental consulting firm, in 2009, Smith had extensive state and local government experience. He served as both director and deputy director of the Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations from 2007-2008. Since September of 2017, he has served as chair of the State Board of Mediation and, in July 2021, added the role of director of the Division of Labor Standards.

Smith is a veteran legislator having served fourteen years in the Missouri House of Representatives. Smith also served as Governor Matt Blunt’s Director of Legislative Affairs and was Presiding Commissioner of Pettis County.


Division of Labor Standards
P.O. Box 449
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449
Phone: 573-751-3403
Fax: 573-751-3721