2023 Minimum Wage
The state minimum wage for 2023 is $12.00 per hour.
2024 Minimum Wage
$12.30 MISSOURI MINIMUM WAGE IN EFFECT FOR PRIVATE EMPLOYERS FOR 2024
After 2023, the minimum wage rate for all private and non-exempt businesses will be based on the increase or decrease in the cost of living pursuant to the Consumer Price Index.
Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the minimum wage, $6.15 per hour, plus any amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $12.30 per hour.
Employers Subject to Minimum Wage
Employers engaged in retail or service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are not required to pay the state minimum wage rate. Employers not subject to the minimum wage law can pay employees wages of their choosing. For more information, please contact the United States Department of Labor.
Employers are generally subject to both state minimum wage laws and the federal minimum wage provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. 206, and the FLSA regulations at 29 CFR Part 570. Certain provisions of Missouri state law may be less restrictive than federal law, and employers covered by the FLSA that only follow a less restrictive provision of Missouri state law will be in violation of federal law. See 29 U.S.C.218(a). For more information on federal minimum wage law, please visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division Website at www.dol.gov/whd.
If you feel you are not being paid the correct wages, you can file a minimum wage complaint.
Minimum Wage History
|Time Period||$ Amount|
Missouri Minimum Wage Summary Posters
All employers subject to any provisions of the law shall post a summary of the law and regulations. The Division of Labor Standards has created a summary to post for the convenience of Missouri employers. You also may print a Spanish Minimum Wage Summary Poster. Please post the summary in a conspicuous and accessible place at the business. Required by Missouri Revised Statutes, Section 290.522.
This poster can be downloaded and printed from this website or requested from:
Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
Division of Labor Standards
P.O. Box 449
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449