Google Translate

About the Labor Commission

The Labor and Industrial Relations Commission (LIRC) is established by Section 49, Article IV, of the Missouri Constitution. The LIRC’s primary constitutional duty is to oversee the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations (Labor Department). The LIRC is composed of three members appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. One member is classified as a representative of employers, one member is classified as a representative of employees, and one member is classified as a representative of the public. The public representative must be licensed to practice law in Missouri.

Robert Cornejo
Robert Cornejo

Robert Cornejo was appointed as the public member, and chair, of the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission (LIRC) in August 2018.  A 2001 graduate of Hazelwood Central, Cornejo graduated from Washington University in St. Louis with a degree in Political Science with a second major in International Business. In 2008, Cornejo earned his J.D. from University of Missouri- School of Law.  Prior to his appointment to the LIRC, Cornejo represented the 64th District (St. Charles and Lincoln Counties) as a state representative, from 2012-2018.  He was previously a member of the Kespohl and Cornejo, LLC law firm.  In 2004, Cornejo interned for U.S. Senator Jim Talent's St. Louis office. He is an active member in his church, Zion Lutheran Church in Harvester. Born in St Louis County, Cornejo currently lives in St. Peters with his wife. They have a son and two daughters.

Reid Forrester
Reid Forrester

Reid Forrester was appointed as the employer representative of the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission (LIRC) in May 2018. A former business owner for over 20 years, Forrester and his wife, Susan, owned and managed several businesses in Southeast Missouri. They began with a video rental chain in four locations, as well as supplying movies and equipment to several area convenience and grocery stores. After selling the rental company, they opened a series of dollar-only retail stores, growing to five locations and operating for 11 years until selling that business to begin a career in public service. Forrester has since served as a member of the Missouri Board of Probation and Parole, as Chief of Staff to the Lieutenant Governor, and as the Legislative Liaison for the Department of Labor & Industrial Relations.


Curtis Chick
Shalonn "Kiki" Curls

Shalonn “Kiki” Curls was appointed as the employee representative on the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission (LIRC) in January of 2020. Curls received her education from the University of Missouri-Columbia and previously worked in real estate development. Just prior to her appointment to the LIRC, Curls served as Missouri State Senator of the 9th District in Jackson County. She was elected to the Missouri Senate in a special election in 2011, after serving four (4) years in the Missouri House of Representatives from 2007-2011. During her years of public service in the Missouri Senate, Curls served in multiple leadership roles and on several statutory committees. She served as Assistant Democratic Floor Leader (2013-2015, 2017-2020) and Democratic Caucus Chair (2015-2017). She also served on several statutory committees including, but not limited to: Appropriations; Small Business and Insurance; Jobs, Economic Development and Local Government; Infrastructure & Public Safety; Administration and Agriculture. She has worked tirelessly on issues regarding economic development, decent and affordable housing and tenant’s rights. In addition to her service in the Missouri Legislature, Curls also served as 14th Ward Democratic
Committeewoman for over 20 years in Kansas City.



Contact Us

Labor and Industrial Relations Commission
3315 W. Truman Blvd., Room 214
P.O. Box 599
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0599
Phone: 573-751-2461
Fax: 573-751-7806