Google Translate

Training & Presentations

Training & Presentations

The Missouri Department of Labor offers speakers who can provide presentations and training for your business, organization and workers. To sign up, fill out the training request form. We can even customize a training to fit your needs. If you have questions, call 573-522-2296.

Sign up for a Speaker/Training

The Department offers speakers and training on the following topics:

 

Implicit Bias

Missouri is increasingly diverse. Society’s negative assumptions and stereotyping, even when not made consciously, can be an obstacle for full inclusion for all. This training explains what implicit bias is and suggests practices for identifying and reducing it to foster greater openness in your organization and maximize its performance.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Department of Labor Overview

The Speakers can tailor this presentation to your needs. They can provide a broad overview of the Department or have each speaker provide detailed information about the various Divisions with emphasis on the programs and laws they administer.

Duration - 30 minutes (Overview), ~2.5 hours (in-depth)   Sign Up!

Disability Awareness

Through this training, participants will better understand people with disabilities and ways to ensure a positive and productive environment. Discussion will include ways to remove unnecessary barriers and stereotypes.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Diversity and Inclusion

The Missouri workforce is increasingly diverse. This training discusses ways to overcome resistance to change and inclusion, foster an attitude of openness in your organization, and eliminate profiling and stereotypes in the workplace that can lead to a discriminatory and illegal workplace environment. This training will also effectively expose the problems caused by stereotypical thinking and biased behaviors.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Employment Discrimination Laws and Prevention

When does innocent flirtation turn into unlawful harassment? When is an individual entitled to a reasonable accommodation of a disability in the workplace? Learn the answers to these questions and many more in this training designed provide participants with a practical understanding of the requirements of the equal opportunity employment laws, including those pertaining to sex, disability, age, race, color, national origin, ancestry, religion, association, and retaliation.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Free Student Presentations

Our speakers provide a wide variety of topics to your students whether they are elementary, high school, or college age. Our speakers can present information on discrimination (diversity, sexual harassment, etc.) or youth employment (acceptable/unacceptable work and hours for youth).

Sign Up!

Hazard Lab

Get a closer look at everyday tools and work environments and let the experts shine light on the hidden dangers. A total of 30 different workstations present real hazards found in various industries. Due to large display requirements and extended set-up times, this is recommended for large groups or conferences.

Sign Up!

Housing Discrimination Laws and Prevention

Focusing on requirements of fair housing laws pertaining to discrimination based on sex, disability, familial status, race, color, national origin, ancestry, religion, association, and retaliation. This training discusses issues such as accessibility and reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities, the requirements for providing housing choice to families with children, and best practices for housing professionals, such as realtors, property managers, and lenders, to comply with fair housing laws.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Are You Off the Books?
How to Properly Classify Your Workers - 1099 Information

This presentation provides information concerning proper classification of workers for unemployment insurance. Presenters provide an overview of the standards used when determining a worker's classification. Participants will learn the twenty-factors used to evaluate the working relationship, required records and penalty information for fraudulently misclassifying workers as required by law.

Duration - 30 minutes to 1 hour   Sign Up!

Investigating Discrimination Complaints

This training offers practical procedures for investigating discrimination complaints and includes recommended ways to protect principal parties, interview witnesses, and take appropriate responsive action. Requests for this training can tailored to discrimination complaints in employment, housing, and/or public accommodations or for local human rights organizations.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

*This training can also be tailored up to three days if necessary and/or requested, with our fee applying hourly or by negotiation.

Mine and Cave Safety and Health

Designed to help miners and the mining community reduce accidents through education, training, hazard elimination, and assistance provided to miners in accordance with Missouri state laws and regulations and the Federal Mine Act of 1977. On-site training and consultation are available and tailored to your site. A brief consultation and inspection audit will be arranged by one of the Division's MSHA certified instructors to determine your needs.

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

On-Site Overview: OSHA Regulations and Inspection Procedures

We provide an overview of the Missouri On-Site Safety and Health Consultation Program. We also provide information on achieving compliance with OSHA regulations and implementing a safety and health management program.

For companies who have excellent safety and health management programs, the On-site Consultation Program administers the Safety and Health Recognition Program (SHARP) Participants in SHARP are eligible to receive up to a 3 year exemption from OSHA programmed inspections.

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

Overview of the Missouri Human Rights Act

This training explains the fair employment, housing, and public accommodations rights and responsibilities under the Missouri Human Rights Act and details the administrative complaint process, from intake through public hearing.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

Lending Discrimination Laws and Prevention

This training can be tailored to lenders, to ensure their compliance with the requirements of the fair housing portions of the Missouri Human Rights Act, or to individuals, to help them recognize and avoid discriminatory lending practices and understand and access their rights under fair housing laws.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Prevailing Wage/Public Works Construction/Construction Safety Training

This presentation provides information concerning coverage and payment of prevailing wage rates on Missouri Public Works projects, construction projects funded by or partially or benefit taxpaying citizens. The prevailing wage rates differ by county and for different types of work. The goal is to establish better understanding of the prevailing wage law and communication with interested parties to assist in achieving voluntary compliance. The required construction safety training is a program, similar to the OSHA-10 Construction Safety training, that requires any worker working on a Missouri public works projects to be certified in as required by law.

Duration - 2 hours   Sign Up!

Public Accommodations Discrimination Laws and Prevention

This training discusses anti-discrimination laws in places of public accommodations. It provides guidance on the non-discriminatory provision of advantages, facilities, services, or privileges, such as accessibility and equal access to all facilities open to the general public.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 hour   Sign Up!

Sexual Harassment Laws and Prevention

What is sexual harassment? When does it create an unlawful, hostile environment? This training updates participants on new developments in sexual harassment law, gives practical examples of sexually harassing behavior through real case scenarios, offers guidance for both complainants and respondents, and shares best practices for investigating and preventing sexual harassment.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration- 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Shared Work Program - Layoff Alternative

Shared Work is an unemployment insurance (UI) program that provides employers an alternative to laying off employees. Instead of laying off some employees, approved employers have workers share the work by working reduced hours. To compensate for the reduced wages, the affected workers may collect a percentage of unemployment benefits, which are charged to the participating employer's UI account.

Duration - 20 minutes   Sign Up!

Survivor Benefits/Line of Duty Benefits

In 2009, the Missouri General Assembly enacted the “Line of Duty Compensation Act,” which is contained in §287.243 of the Missouri Revised Statutes. The Act provides for compensation benefit to the survivors of firefighters, law enforcement officers, air ambulance pilots, air ambulance registered professional nurses and emergency medical technicians who are killed in the line of duty. In 2014, the Missouri Legislature made some amendments to the Act, effective August 28, 2014. Further changes were made effective August 28, 2017, to allow the survivors to file a Claim for Compensation for Line of Duty Benefits with the Division. A distribution plan for the payment of compensation was created. This presentation explains in further detail the provisions of the law.

Duration - 20 minutes   Sign Up!

Unemployment Insurance Overview

This presentation focuses on the rights and responsibilities of employers and claimants and explains how the unemployment insurance program and appeals process works.

The Division of Employment Security administers the Missouri Unemployment Compensation Law by collecting tax contributions from employers and paying unemployment benefits to individuals who are determined eligible under the law.  All decisions rendered in regard to contributions and benefits may be appealed.

Sign Up!

Wage and Hour Standards and Youth Employment

Wage and Hour Standards provides information concerning coverage and payment of minimum wage, breaks, vacation, overtime, and employment relationships. The Department has authority to investigate whether employees are being paid properly under the Minimum Wage law. However, the Division of Labor Standards is not authorized by law to pursue an employee's wage claim in court. Youth Employment presentation informs employers, school officials, parents, and public interest groups about their rights and responsibilities under the child labor law. Also, we discuss how routine inspections are performed to ensure compliance with the law and how they protect the health and safety of working youth by assuring they are not working in prohibited or hazardous occupations.

Duration - 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

Workers' Compensation Laws

Most Employers (and their Employees) in Missouri are covered by our Workers' Compensation Law, with each group having certain rights and obligations. The Division of Workers' Compensation can provide a knowledgeable speaker for a general overview of the Missouri Workers' Compensation System or a more specialized presentation, focusing the on the particular concerns of Employees (and their families), Employers, Insurers, Health Care Providers or others who have an interest in our System.

Duration - 20 minutes   Sign Up!

Workplace Harassment Laws and Prevention

When does joking, simple teasing, or horseplay cross the line of acceptable workplace behavior? When does a personality conflict transform into harassment? This training provides an overview of the various types of possible workplace harassment – whether based on sex, disability, age, race, color, national origin, ancestry, religion, association, and/or retaliation. Participants will learn what constitutes illegal workplace harassment, what does not, and gain a better understanding of workers' rights and responsibilities for responding to harassing behavior.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!

On-Site Safety & Health Logo

On-Site Safety Consultation

The Division of Labor Standards’ On-Site Safety and Health Consultation Program can assist you in making your workplace safer and help avoid costly penalties imposed by OSHA. Our safety and health consultants provide an OSHA-type “mock” inspection at the workplace, at no cost and without assessing any fines or penalties.

The employer always sets the scope of the visit, so the consultation can include the entire workplace or it can be limited to a specific area or phase of the workplace. The only obligation is to correct the hazards identified by the consultant.

During the walk through, the safety and health consultant will identify and discuss any potential hazards and suggest the best and most cost - effective solutions. Consultants also can provide training and assistance in the preparation of site-specific written safety and health programs.

For companies who have excellent safety and health management programs, the On-site Consultation Program administers the Safety and Health Recognition Program (SHARP) Participants in SHARP are eligible to receive up to a 3 year exemption from OSHA programmed inspections

Sign Up for Safety Consultation

Workers' Compensation Fraud and Noncompliance

The Unit investigates allegations of fraud and noncompliance under the Missouri Workers’ Compensation Law. This presentation would provide an overview of how the Unit could assist the employees, employers, insurance companies and Third-Party Administrators in combatting fraud. The presentation would also provide examples and explain how employers, including construction industry employers, need to be in compliance with the law. The Division of Workers' Compensation can provide a knowledgeable speaker who could help the stakeholders avoid costly mistakes, prosecution and fines.

Sign Up!

Workers' Compensation Adjudication Process and Case Law Update

This presentation will provide an overview and explanation of the various docket settings provided by the Division of Workers’ Compensation and also review the applicable forms that need to be submitted to request a docket setting. Participants will also be provided with an update of recent decisions issued by the reviewing courts that may have an impact upon the employers and employees. Recent legislative changes to the Workers’ Compensation Law could be included upon request.

Sign Up!

Medical Fee Disputes

The Medical Fee Dispute Program allows health care providers to litigate disputes relating to outstanding charges and fees for treatment and services provided to injured employees. Missouri is a “fair and reasonable” state and doesn’t have a fee schedule.

There are two types of medical fee disputes: “Reasonableness”, when the bill has been discounted and partially paid, and “Direct Pay”, when treatment has been authorized but no payment has been made on the bill. This presentation would provide an overview of the Medical Fee Dispute program as well as the procedures in place to resolve disputes.

This presentation can help healthcare providers as well as employers and insurers navigate the ins and outs of the program and medical charges and requirements under the Missouri Workers’ Compensation Law.

Sign Up!

Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing

All governmental agencies and municipalities that receive federal funds have a duty to affirmatively further fair housing (AFFH). This training offers participants an overview of the origination and history of this AFFH requirement, assists them in effectively understanding the purpose and definition of their AFFH obligation, and offers tools and resources to aid in fulfilling AFFH duties.

There is a fee for this training. Training fee per person is as follows:

People Private Government
1-50 $25 $20
51-100 $20 $15
More than 100 $15 $10

Duration - 1 to 1.5 hours   Sign Up!