Google Translate

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available for Additional Counties

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available for Additional Counties

Tue, 07/18/2017
FEMA approved Governor’s request to expand federal assistance to eligible Missourians in Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright counties

JEFFERSON CITY – Governor Eric Greitens announced FEMA approved his request to expand federal assistance to eight additional Missouri counties.  This approval allows those whose employment was lost or interrupted due to severe storms and flooding from April 28  to May 11, 2017, to apply for up to 26 weeks of Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).

“This expansion of the federal disaster declaration means more Missouri families and communities will receive critical assistance as they recover from historic flooding that left some with unprecedented clean up and recovery expenses,” Gov. Greitens said. “I urge Missourians to act quickly and apply to FEMA so they can take advantage of this opportunity to advance Missouri’s recovery across the state.”

Claimants in the following eight counties must file a DUA claim by August 17, 2017: Christian, Crawford, Dent, Greene, Iron, Ste. Genevieve, Wayne and Wright. Eligibility for DUA will be determined on a week-to-week basis and individuals can only receive benefits for as long as his or her unemployment continues as a result of the disaster.

To be eligible for DUA benefits individuals:

  • Must be an unemployed or self-unemployed worker whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the major disaster declared by the President; and
  • Must be a U.S. national or a qualified alien; and
  • Must not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state; and
  • Must have worked or were self-employed in, or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment in, one of the counties listed above; and
  • Must establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income.

Also eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who:

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of a disaster; or
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of the household; or,
  • Cannot work or perform self-employment due to closure of a facility by the federal government.

Applicants are required to provide proof that they were employed or self-employed at the time the disaster occurred or were scheduled to begin work when the disaster occurred. This proof of employment must be filed with the initial claim or within 21 days of filing their DUA claim. To claim, individuals will need their Social Security Number and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs may also be required (self-employed individuals should also provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F).  

To file a DUA claim, call your Regional Claims Center (see below) Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., or go to Missourians impacted by the severe storms and flooding in all the declared counties can register for additional assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at (800) 621-3362, TTY (800) 462-7585, or register with FEMA online at

Regional Claims Centers:

Jefferson City..................................573-751-9040
Kansas City.....................................816-889-3101
St. Louis.........................................314-340-4950
Outside Local Calling Area...............800-320-2519


To find additional resources across the state, visit the Missouri Recovery Portal.

Contact Information

Adam Pulley