Unemployment Benefits Available to Flood Victims

Presidential Disaster Declaration makes individual assistance available 27 Missouri Counties

JEFFERSON CITY, MO - On June 2, 2017, a major disaster declaration was granted by President Donald Trump, allowing Missourians in 27 counties whose employment was lost or interrupted due to severe storms and flooding from April 28 to May 11, 2017, to apply for up to 26 weeks of Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).

“A critical part of recovering from disasters such as these is the ability to continue to provide for our families and take care of their needs,” says Department Acting Director Anna Hui, “That’s why unemployment benefits are integral as our communities recover.”

The Missouri Department of Labor’s Division of Employment Security will be accepting applications for DUA until July 5, 2017, from individuals in Bollinger, Butler, Carter, Douglas, Dunklin, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Jasper, Jefferson, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Shannon, St. Louis, Stone, Taney and Texas counties. Eligibility for DUA will be determined on a week-to-week basis and individuals can only receive benefits for as long as his or her unemployment continues as a result of the disaster.

To be eligible for DUA benefits under Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA-4317-DR, individuals:

  • Must be an unemployed or self-unemployed worker whose unemployment was caused as a direct result of the major disaster declared by the President
  • Must be a U.S. national or a qualified alien; and
  • Must not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits from any state; and
  • Must have worked or were self-employed in, or were scheduled to begin work or self-employment in, one of the counties listed above; and
  • Must establish that the work or self-employment they can no longer perform was their primary source of income.

Also eligible to apply for DUA are individuals who:

  • Can no longer work or perform services because of physical damage or destruction to the place of employment as a direct result of a disaster; or
  • Cannot perform work or self-employment because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster; or
  • Became the breadwinner or major support of a household because of the death of the head of the household; or,
  • Cannot work or perform self-employment due to closure of a facility by the federal government.

Applicants are required to provide proof that they were employed or self-employed at the time the disaster occurred or were scheduled to begin work when the disaster occurred. This proof of employment must be filed with the initial claim or within 21 days of filing their DUA claim. To claim, individuals will need their Social Security Number and the name and address of their last employer or prospective employer. A copy of the most recent federal income tax forms or check stubs may also be required (self-employed individuals should also provide Schedules SE and Schedule C or Schedule F).  

Individuals, who may be eligible for assistance, should call (800) 788-4002 for information about filing a claim. To file a DUA claim, call your Regional Claims Center (see below) Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., or go to uinteract.labor.mo.gov. Missourians impacted by the severe storms and flooding in all the declared counties can register for additional assistance by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at (800) 621-3362, TTY (800) 462-7585, or register with FEMA online at DisasterAssistance.gov

File for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Regional Claims Centers:

Jefferson City..................................573-751-9040
Kansas City.....................................816-889-3101
St. Louis.........................................314-340-4950
Outside Local Calling Area...............800-320-2519

To find additional resources across the state, visit the Missouri Recovery Portal.

Communications Staff

Department of Labor and Industrial Relations