
�	 The individual refuses to accept a 
referral to suitable employment without 
good cause

�	 The individual is not able to work 
(unless the inability is due to an injury 
caused as a direct result of the disaster)

� 	The individual is not available for work 
(unless the unavailability is due to the 
individual’s preparations to resume 
self-employment)

�	 The individual is no longer unemployed 
as a direct result of the disaster.

How is the DUA Weekly 
Benefit Amount Calculated?
DUA claims use a different base period 
than regular UI claims. Your DUA 
claim base period is the most recently 
completed tax year (January 1 through 
December 31).

Your DUA WBA is four percent of the 
average of your two highest quarters 
during the base period (highest quarter 
+ second highest quarter ÷ 2 x 0.04 = 
WBA). Missouri’s maximum WBA is 
$320. For this calculation, you must have 
wages in at least two base period quarters 
with at least $1,500 in one of those 
quarters and the total base period wages 
must equal at least 1.5 times the highest 
quarter wages.

This calculation also applies to 
self‑employed individuals.

Note: If you do not meet the above 
criteria, you may qualify for the Minimum 
DUA Weekly Benefit Amount (see 
below).

What is the Minimum DUA 
Weekly Benefit Amount?
The minimum DUA WBA is 50 percent 
of the state average WBA. The USDOL 

Disaster 
Unemployment 

Assistance

Helping Workers 
Whose Jobs Have 
Been Affected by 
Natural Disasters

issues a program letter at the beginning of 
each quarter listing the average WBA for 
that quarter for each state. You will receive 
the minimum DUA WBA if you:
�	 do not have any wages or income in the 

DUA base period, or
�	 did not earn enough wages or income to 

qualify for the minimum WBA.

How are Special 
Circumstances Handled?
If you worked part time prior to the 
disaster, the Division of Employment 
Security (DES) will adjust your WBA 
in proportion to the number of hours 
you worked per week and the customary 
full‑time hours for your occupation.

If you worked in a family unit or 
business, the DES will assign wages or 
net income equally to the adult family 
members of the business unless you submit 
documentation to assign wages differently. 
The DES will use actual wages earned 
for minors working in the family unit or 
business.

What is the Process for 
Overpayments and Fraud?
The DES will notify you if you are 
overpaid. If you receive benefits to which 
you are not entitled, you must repay them.

If you deliberately misrepresent facts in 
order to claim benefits, it is considered 
an act of fraud. If the overpayment 
was caused by acts of fraud, additional 
penalties will apply.

What is the 
Appeals Process?
Any denial of DUA benefits may be 
appealed. Individuals must file the 
appeal within 60 days of the date the 
determination was mailed.

What is the Legal Authority 
for DUA?
Sections 410 and 423, Robert T. Stafford 
Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance 
Act (Stafford Act); Title 20, Chapter V, 
Part 625, Code of Federal Regulations 
(20 CFR 625), as amended.

Contact Information
For more information or to file a DUA 

claim, call: 800-788-4002

Mail Proof of Income or Appeal to: 
Benefits Section (DUA) 

Division of Employment Security 
P.O. Box 2313 

Jefferson City, MO 65102-2313

Or fax to: 
573-751-5040

Missouri TTY User: 800-735-2966 
or 711 for Relay Missouri.

IMPORTANT: If needed, call 573-751-9040 for 
assistance in the translation and understanding of 
the information in this document.

¡IMPORTANTE!: Si es necesario, llame el 
573-751-9040 para asistencia en la traducción y 
entendimiento de la información en este documento.

Missouri Division of Employment Security 
is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available 

upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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What is Disaster 
Unemployment Assistance?
The Disaster Unemployment Assistance 
(DUA) Program provides temporary 
benefits to individuals whose employment 
or self-employment has been lost or 
interrupted as a direct result of a major 
disaster and who are not eligible for 
regular unemployment insurance (UI) 
benefits. “Direct result” means an 
immediate result of the major disaster 
itself and not the result of a longer chain 
of events caused or worsened by the 
disaster.

The U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL) 
oversees the DUA Program and 
coordinates with the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency (FEMA) of the 
Department of Homeland Security. State 
UI agencies, acting as agents of the 
federal government, administer the DUA 
Program.

What is a Major Disaster?
A “major disaster” means any natural 
catastrophe (such as a tornado, earthquake, 
snowstorm, flood, drought, etc.) or other 
types of disasters (such as an 
explosion, natural gas leak, etc.) that 
results in a Presidential declaration 
of a disaster. Based upon the request 
of the Governor, the President may 
declare a major disaster in that state. 
The declaration will define the areas 
affected by the disaster and may 
authorize DUA funds. The Missouri 
Department of Labor and Industrial 
Relations will announce the 30-day 
DUA benefit application period if the 
President declares a disaster in Missouri. 
You must file your DUA claim during this 
30-day period.

Who Can Qualify for 
DUA Benefits?
One of the following conditions of 
unemployment must have occurred as a 
direct result of the disaster to qualify for 
DUA benefits:
�	 The individual has had a week of 

unemployment following the date the 
major disaster began

�	 The individual is unable to reach his or 
her place of employment

�	 The individual was scheduled to start 
work and the job no longer exists, or 
the individual was unable to reach the 
job

�	 The individual became the primary 
financial support in the home because 
the head of household died as a direct 
result of the disaster

�	 The individual cannot work because of 
an injury caused as a direct result of the 
disaster.

DUA benefits are not available if you are 
entitled to regular UI benefits or waiting 
week credit. There is no waiting week 
required for DUA claims.

What are the 
DUA Eligibility 
Requirements?
In order to be eligible 
for DUA benefits, 
individuals who meet 
one of the qualifying 
conditions above also 
must meet all the 
following eligibility 
requirements:

�	 The individual is not eligible for regular 
UI benefits

�	 The individual is unemployed as a 
direct result of the disaster

�	 The individual is able and available for 
work, unless injured 
as a direct result of 
the disaster

�	 The individual 
filed an application 
for DUA benefits 
within 30 days of 
the date of the public 
announcement of the availability of 
DUA funds

�	 The individual has not refused an offer 
of employment in a suitable position.

What Proof of Employment 
is Required to Establish 
Employment at the Time of 
a Disaster?
The following documents would be 
considered proof of employment: income 
tax return, bank statements, last pay 
stubs, or work order. Proof is required 
to substantiate employment or self-
employment, or to substantiate work that 
was to begin on or after the date of the 
disaster. If proof of employment cannot 
be provided at the time the DUA claim 
is filed, individuals have 21 calendar 
days from the time the claim was filed to 
meet this requirement. Failure to submit 
this documentation within the 21 days 
will result in a denial of DUA benefits, 
and any benefits already paid will be 
considered overpaid. Individuals are 
required to repay any benefits overpaid.

How to File Your 
Initial DUA Claim
1.	Call 800-788-4002. A recording will 

give you important information about 
the DUA Program and the phone 
number of your Regional Claims Center 
(RCC) to file your DUA claim.

2.	Contact your RCC. A Claims Specialist 
will help you determine if you are 
eligible for any other unemployment 
benefits. If so, you will collect those 
benefits instead of receiving DUA 
benefits. If not, the representative will 
help you file your DUA claim. Please 
note, you will need to provide your 
Social Security Number (SSN).

3.	Once your DUA claim is filed, 
you must continue to file a weekly 
certification each week to receive 
DUA benefits. Paper DUA weekly 
certification forms will be mailed to 
you. You must report all income from 
the week, including wages, even if you 
have not yet been paid for the work. 
Report pension or retirement pay if the 
Claims Specialist instructs you to do 
so, but do not report Social Security 
payments.

Are Federal Taxes 
Withheld?
DUA benefits are subject to federal 
income tax. Individuals may elect to have 
federal withholdings deducted from their 
DUA benefit payments. Individuals will 
receive a federal “Certain Government 
Payments” (Form 1099-G) to file with 
their income tax returns.

What Causes DUA Benefits 
to be Terminated?
An individual can be disqualified for 
DUA benefits or DUA benefits can be 
terminated if any of the following occur:
�	 The individual becomes employed and 

the earnings exceed the weekly benefit 
amount (WBA) allowed under that 
state’s law

�	 The individual refuses to accept 
suitable employment without good 
cause
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