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This is a summary of the general provisions of the Missouri 
Workers’ Compensation Law. For additional information, contact 
an information specialist at the Division of Workers’ Compensation 
(DWC) at 800-775-2667.
IMPORTANT: This pamphlet is not a complete statement of the workers’ 
compensation law. It should not be relied on to answer your legal questions. 
The workers’ compensation statutes will apply to determine the facts 
regarding your injury.
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Work Related Injuries
A work-related injury is a 

traumatic experience. 
If you are injured 
on the job or have 
been exposed to 
occupational disease in 
the course and scope 
of your employment, 
the Missouri Workers’ 
Compensation law can 
provide some relief from 
the worry and financial 
strain of being injured 
and possibly off work.

Missouri law requires 
most employers to carry 
insurance, which pays for 
medical treatment and lost 
time benefits for employees 
who are injured on the job. 
The law requires prompt 
payment of benefits at no 
cost to you if you sustain a 
work-related injury covered 
under the law.



Workers Covered Under the 
Missouri Workers’ Compensation Law
If you are employed in the construction industry, your employer must 
have workers’ compensation insurance, if the employer has one or more 
employees. Employers in other types of business must carry insurance if 
they have five or more employees. Railroad, postal and maritime workers 
are covered by federal laws.

Exemptions

The Missouri Workers’ Compensation Law does not apply to 
employment of farm labor, domestic servants in private homes, 
occasional labor performed for private households, qualified real estate 
agents and direct sellers, certain unpaid volunteers, certain inmates and 
certain individuals working for amateur youth programs.

Covered Injuries
An injury must have arisen out of and in the course of employment. All 
injuries or occupational diseases must meet the standard of the accident 
or occupational exposure being “the prevailing factor” in causing both the 
resulting medical condition and disability. Injuries for which the cause is 
unknown, such as idiopathic injuries, are not covered. Most injuries that 
occur when the employee is going to and from work are excluded.

Steps to Take When Injured on the Job
Report your injury. 
Report any injury immediately to your employer or supervisor. 
Failure to report your injury to your employer within 30 days 
of an accident or 30 days from the date of the diagnosis of 

an occupational disease 
or repetitive trauma may 
jeopardize your ability 
to receive workers’ 
compensation benefits. 
Notify your employer in 
writing about the injury – 
including the nature of the 
injury, where and when it 
occurred and the name and 
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address of the person injured. If your employer has an Accident or 
Injury Report form, use it. If your employer does not have an Accident 
or Injury Report form, the Division of Workers’ Compensation has a 
form on its website, Form WC-280, “Report Your Workplace Injury/
Occupational Disease or Repetitive Trauma Injury,” that may be 
used to provide written notice to your employer, available at: www.
labor.mo.gov/sites/labor/files/pubs_forms/WC-280-AI.pdf. This form 
should be given to your employer – not the Division of Workers 
Compensation. Keep a copy of the notice you give to your employer 
for your records.*

Medical treatment. If you need to see a doctor for treatment
as the result of an injury on the job, you should tell your
employer that you want to see a doctor. Under Missouri law, the 
employer has the right to select the treating doctor in workers’ 

compensation cases. Your employer or supervisor should arrange 
medical treatment and file the necessary reports with the Division of 
Workers’ Compensation (DWC).

Visit www.labor.mo.gov/DWC for additional information about 
the benefits available to you or the steps you may have to take in 
order to receive benefits.

*After your employer files the First Report of Injury with the DWC, you should
receive a letter from the DWC. The “Notification of Rights” letter will be sent to
you if your injury results in lost time from work. If you do not lose time from work
due to the injury, you will be sent a “Medical-Only” letter. If you believe you have
not received that letter in a timely fashion, please contact an information specialist
at 800-775-2667.

Benefits Available
• Medical care – All costs for authorized medical testing and treatment,

prescriptions and medical devices are covered. There is no deductible
and all costs are paid by your employer or its workers’ compensation
insurance company. If you do receive a bill, contact your employer or
its insurer immediately.

The employer has the right to choose the treating physician or other
healthcare provider. The employer and its workers’ compensation
insurance company generally are not required to pay for treatment
the employee seeks or selects without their authorization. However,
the employer and insurer may authorize you to see your own doctor.
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You should check with the employer and its insurance company with 
respect to any medical treatment you seek.

	 When an employee is required to submit to treatment at a place outside 
of the local or metropolitan area from the employee’s principal place 
of employment, the employee is entitled to payment for necessary 
and reasonable expenses. In no event is 
the employer or insurer required to pay 
transportation costs of more than 250 miles 
each way from the place of treatment.

	 In addition, the employer or insurer may offer 
physical rehabilitation services to assist you 
in returning to work. This is an extension of medical treatment – for 
example, physical therapy to strengthen muscles.

•	 Payments for lost wages – Most injuries only keep you from 
working temporarily and you may be eligible for temporary total 
disability payments. If the doctor says that you are unable to return 
to work due to your injuries or you are off work recovering from a 
surgery, you may be entitled to temporary total disability (“TTD”) 
benefits. If the doctor states you can perform light or modified duty 
work and your employer offers you such work, you may not be eligible 
for TTD benefits. If you return to light or modified duty at less than 
full pay, the workers’ compensation law requires that temporary partial 
disability (“TPD”) benefits are paid to you. Temporary disability 
benefits should be continued until the doctor says that you can return 
to work without restrictions or when your treatment is concluded 
because your condition has reached “maximum medical improvement,” 
whichever occurs first.

•	 Compensation Rate – The amount of the weekly payment is 66 2/3 
percent of the injured workers average weekly wage, not to exceed a 
maximum amount set by law. For temporary total disability (“TTD”) 
benefits, permanent total disability (“PTD”) benefits or death benefits, 
the maximum amount an employee can receive is 105 percent of the 
state average weekly wage. For permanent partial disability (“PPD”) 
benefits, the maximum amount is 55 percent of the state average 
weekly wage. Workers’ compensation payments are tax-free by federal 
law.

•	 Compensation for permanent disability – Once a doctor has 
determined that you have reached maximum medical improvement 
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(you have recovered as much as possible), and you have a permanent 
disability, you may be entitled to receive a permanent disability 
payment.

¡	 Permanent partial disability (PPD) means your work injury affects 
your ability to perform some jobs or work tasks, and you are still 
able to work at some job (not necessarily the job you had at the time 
of your injury). You may receive a lump sum payment based on the 
nature and extent of the disability.

¡	 Permanent total disability (PTD) means you no longer are able 
to work at any job. If your last work-related injury alone causes 
your permanent total disability, you may be entitled to weekly 
payments for life from your employer or its insurer, or you may 
want to negotiate a lump sum settlement instead of a weekly lifetime 
payment.

•	 Survivor benefits – If an employee dies due to a compensable 
accidental injury or occupational disease, the surviving dependents 
may receive weekly death benefits paid at 66 2/3 percent of the 
deceased employee’s average weekly wage as of the date of the injury, 
not to exceed the maximum amount set by law. If an employee dies 
from a compensable accidental injury or occupational disease, the 
employer is required by law to pay funeral expenses up to $5,000. 
For additional information about these benefits, visit www.labor.
mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/survivor_benefits. For information on 
college scholarship opportunities for surviving children, visit www.
mokidschance.org/.

•	 Waiting Period – No compensation is paid for the first three days 
or less of the employee’s total disability during which the employer 
is open for business unless the employee’s total disability lasts longer 
than 14 days. If the employee’s total disability lasts longer than 14 
days, payment for the first three days must be made retroactively to the 
employee.

•	 Additional benefits for occupational diseases due to toxic 
exposure – A change in the law, effective January 1, 2014, provides 
for enhanced benefit payments if it is shown that an employee is 
permanently and totally disabled (or has died) due to an occupational 
disease due to toxic exposure (defined as: mesothelioma, asbestosis, 
berylliosis, coal worker’s pneumoconiosis, brochiolitis, obliterans, 
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silicosis, silicotuberculosis, manganism, acute myelogenous leukemia 
and myelodysplastic syndrome). The benefits payable by the employer 
for claims filed on or after January 1, 2014, are:

	 For occupational diseases due to toxic exposure, but not including 
mesothelioma, an amount equal to 200% of the state’s average weekly 
wage as of the date of diagnosis for 100 weeks.

	 In cases where occupational disease due to toxic exposure is diagnosed 
to be mesothelioma: an amount equal to 300% of the state’s average 
weekly wage for 212 weeks.

	 If the employee dies before all of the additional benefits provided in 
cases of occupational disease due to toxic exposure have been paid, the 
remaining additional benefits are payable to the employee’s spouse or 
children, in addition to the death benefits provided by law. If there is 
no surviving spouse or children, the remaining additional benefits shall 
be paid in a single payment to the employee’s estate.

	 The permanent and total disability benefits and death benefits shall 
only be paid when the enhanced or additional benefits have been 
exhausted.

	 An employee who has obtained enhanced benefits due to asbestosis 
and later develops mesothelioma and obtains an award for that as 
well, shall not receive total benefits that exceed those available for 
mesothelioma alone.
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Second Injury Fund
Missouri’s Second Injury Fund (SIF) may also help an injured worker 
when a current work-related injury combines with a prior disability to 
create an increased combined disability. The formula for calculating 
the Second Injury Fund benefits depends on each case. A change in 
the law, effective January 1, 2014, makes significant changes to the 
benefits payable by the SIF for injuries occurring on or after January 
1, 2014, in that benefits are payable for physical rehabilitation and 
permanent total disability. The new law also establishes a prioritization 
schedule for payment of Second Injury Fund liabilities. Cases of 
permanent disability involving previous disability due to injuries 
occurring prior to January 1, 2014, are compensated under the law in 
existence at that time. For more information, visit www.labor.mo.gov/
DWC/Division_Units/SIF_Unit/sif_home.

https://www.labor.mo.gov/DWC/Division_Units/SIF_Unit/sif_home
https://www.labor.mo.gov/DWC/Division_Units/SIF_Unit/sif_home


Problems Receiving Benefits
If you think you have not received all benefits due to you, contact your 
employer or the insurance company. If the problem cannot be resolved, you 
may wish to take advantage of the dispute management service provided 
by the DWC, have a conference before an administrative law judge or file 
a Claim for Compensation. Visit www.labor.mo.gov/DWC for a claim 
form or you may obtain the form at any DWC office.

The dispute management service is a voluntary informal mediation process 
to help the parties arrive at a resolution (see back for contact information).

For additional information about a settlement, filing a claim or other 
workers’ compensation questions, please call 800-775-2667.

PLEASE NOTE: the information specialists cannot 
act as your legal counsel and cannot give you legal 
advice. The information specialist can provide you 
with general information but cannot advise you 
whether the settlement offer is appropriate for your 
injury.

Timeline for Filing a Claim

9

If you decide to file a claim, the 
Division must receive the claim:

•	 Within two years after the date of the injury or 
death or, if payment was made on account of your 
workers’ compensation injury or death, within two 
years after the last benefit payment was made, or

•	 If the employer does not timely file a Report of 
Injury with the Division, within three years from 
the date of injury or death, or last payment was 
made on account of the injury or death.

https://labor.mo.gov/DWC


What Happens After a Claim is Filed
1.	The employer and its workers’ compensation insurer have thirty 

(30) days after the Division acknowledges receipt of the Claim to 
file Form WC-22, Answer to the Claim for Compensation. The 
Answer is prepared by a lawyer representing the employer and its 
workers’ compensation insurer. Corporations and Limited Liability 
Companies (LLC’s) must be represented by lawyers admitted to 
practice law in Missouri in all proceedings before the Division of 
Workers’ Compensation and beyond. The Answer will either admit or 
deny the allegations or statements made in the Claim. Any “denial” 
contained in an Answer is a contention being made by the employer/
insurer’s lawyer. It is not a ruling from the Division of Workers’ 
Compensation’s Administrative Law Judge (ALJ).

2. 	If a claim is being made against the Second Injury Fund, the Missouri 
Attorney General’s Office also has thirty (30) days after the Division 
acknowledges receipt of the Claim to file Form WC-22, Answer to the 
Claim for Compensation, on behalf of the Missouri State Treasurer, the 
Custodian of the Second Injury Fund. Again, the Answer will either 
admit or deny the allegations or statements made in the claim. 

3.	Any party may request a Pre-Hearing or Mediation to discuss the 
issues in the case and attempt to resolve them. Request for Pre-Hearing 
and Mediation forms are available on the Division’s website www.
labor.mo.gov/DWC or from any of the Division’s local adjudication 
offices.

4.	If all of the issues cannot be settled, any party may request an 
evidentiary hearing to determine whether the employee is eligible for 
the benefits being sought. This is a non-jury trial in which the civil 
rules of evidence apply and the employee bears the burden of proof on 
most issues. The evidentiary hearing is held before one of the ALJ’s 
who issues a written decision that is called an award.  

5. 	A party dissatisfied with the ALJ’s award may seek review from 
the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission (LIRC). From the 
LIRC, there may be an appeal to the Missouri Court of Appeals, with 
occasional appeals on to the Missouri Supreme Court. 

Additional Information
If you need more information, you may ask your employer or the workers’ 
compensation claims representative of the employer’s insurer. The name, 
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address and phone number of the insurer or claims administrator must be 
posted at the workplace. You can also talk to an information specialist 
at the DWC. For additional information about the dispute management 
service, filing a claim or other workers’ compensation questions, please 
call 800-775-2667.

**IMPORTANT – Workers’ compensation is intended to be a streamlined 
benefits system, but many workers’ compensation cases can be 
extremely complicated. Your workers’ compensation case can affect your 
entitlement to social security benefits, Medicare benefits or unemployment 
compensation benefits. Before you make any decision on settling your 
workers’ compensation case, you should read all the information available 
to you on our website or consult an attorney. Attorneys who regularly 
practice workers’ compensation law often offer a free initial consultation 
(see back for attorney referral contact information).

The DWC does not discriminate against individuals with disabilities as 
mandated by P.L. 101-336, the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Fraudulent action on the part of an employer, employee or any other 
person, is unlawful and subject to punishment as provided by law. If you 
suspect fraud, contact DWC offices, or call the Fraud and Noncompliance 
Unit.
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Division Offices
3315 West Truman Blvd. 
P.O. Box 58 
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0058 
573-751-4231 
Toll-free: 800-775-COMP (2667)

5900-B North Tower Dr. 
Columbia, MO 65202-9437 
573-817-4242

3102 Blattner Dr., Suite 101 
Cape Girardeau, MO 63703-6348 
573-290-5757

3311 Texas Avenue 
Joplin, MO 64804-4343 
417-629-3032

1410 Genessee St., Suite 210 
Kansas City, MO 64102-1047 
816-889-2481

1736 East Sunshine, Suite 610 
Springfield, MO 65804-1333 
417-888-4100

525 Jules St., Room 315 
St. Joseph, MO 64501-1900 
816-387-2275

111 N. Seventh St., Room 250 
St. Louis, MO 63101-2170 
314-340-6865



Contact Information

Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation 
P.O. Box 58 

Jefferson City MO 65102 
573-751-4231 

Website: www.labor.mo.gov/DWC 
Toll-free: 800-775-COMP (2667)

Dispute Management Unit 
P.O. Box 58 

Jefferson City MO 65102 
Phone: 573-526-4951 
Fax: 573-526-4960

Fraud and Noncompliance Unit 
P.O. Box 1009 

Jefferson City MO 65102 
Toll-free: 800-592-6003

The Missouri Bar Lawyer Referral Service 
573-636-3635 

(Statewide referrals except for 
St. Louis City, St. Louis County and Greene County)

The St. Louis Metropolitan Bar Lawyer Referral Service 
314-621-6681 

(St. Louis City and St. Louis County)

The Springfield Metropolitan Bar Lawyer Referral Service 
417-831-2783 

(Greene County)

Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation is an equal opportunity 
employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to 

individuals with disabilities.    TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966   Relay Missouri: 711

WC-101 (08-17)  AI

https://labor.mo.gov/DWC



