Workplace Safety

Many workplace injuries and illnesses occur due to a lack of training, supervision, or experience. Hazardous environments or working conditions can also lead to injuries and occupational diseases. Employers have a responsibility under the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and the Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) to ensure their workplaces are in compliance with established safety and health laws.

The Division of Labor Standards offers free safety and health consultation services to assist Missouri employers in reducing injuries and illnesses. These consultation services help ensure their employees have a safe, healthy, and positive place to work.

OSHA can stop by at any time to assess the safety and health of your workplace. OSHA fines for serious hazards found in the workplace increased from $849 to $2,014 per hazard.

The Missouri Workers’ Safety Program was created to help employers improve workplace safety and reduce workers’ compensation insurance costs. At your request, your insurance carrier or the MWSP will assist you in creating a comprehensive safety and health management plan for your business. Fill out this Request for Services form to get started.